New Year, new portfolio

My plan for 2011 was momentarily hindered when over the holiday period disaster struck.  I’ve been shooting with a DSLR (specifically the Canon 40D) for nearly two years, I’ve never looked back and my passion has come leaps and bounds.  Unfortunately the camera went flying, thank goodness for insurance, right?

I won’t bore you with the details but I’ve learnt that dealing with general contents insurers over something as specific as DSLR camera is a mine field.  After offers to replace with three alternative and lower spec models I opted to go with the 60D, I believe I had ‘over stayed my welcome’. After paying my excess I realised that I hadn’t done to badly but it was unlikely that I’d afford an upgrade for a couple of years.  The xxD range of Canon cameras had changed, targeting the consumer end of the market, not so much the professional.

As luck would have it I found a company in Devon that did part exchange.  So a shiny new 7D body is en route as I type and I can breath a sigh of relief as I head back to tinker on those shoot ideas for 2011!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

